top of page

"How can I make my logo more modern, fun, and memorable?"

For a better reading experience, I would recommend going to Quora for my original answer.

 

So I tried to trace the logo to inspect the geometry a bit more, and it seems that the logo consisted of mainly arcs and circles, which are fine so I tried to stick to that as I was tracing, trying to get as many of the main features as possible.

A few things stood out to me:

  1. The mouth really makes it hard to guess what the creature is. And if we can’t relate to it or if it doesn’t pique our interest enough, it might detract some value from the design. Is it a seahorse? Is it a rabbit?

  2. The outlines make the logo a bit outdated. Think of all the logos and symbols with outlines in the 80s and 90s.

  3. Overall the surface treatment and the color scheme remind me of the game Temple Run.

Image source: Google

So I played around with the shapes a little bit and got to this:

Which is alright. It’s certainly a bit cleaner than before. I think incorporating the blue into the original design makes the creature stand out a bit more, which is good. The blue on the ear acts as an inferred arrow pointing you directly down to the central spiral of the whole shape, which leads you back to the eye. You are now more or less forced to make eye-contact with it.

I wanted to have all the sharp teeth and corners rounded, but the design was make-shift which didn’t allow me to round some of the details as you can see above.

Anyway, moving along. I added the text, which is a modified version of the free font Plicata.

Oooo boy. That is stiff. My effort in making the type more fun backfired because the original design looked like a chest piece. Perhaps you might have to experiment with another font as it’s too late for me to get into typography.

But as a last ditch effort, I tried to freehand the sunuvabitch to see how both of them would look if the bottom was more rounded.

And together with the text.

Ehh….not too…bad? That bottom now reminds me of somewhere between a seahorse and a ballsack (good luck un-seeing that), but it does feel more…organic.

I don’t know. I think this could give a good start in the minimalist direction. But a lot more experimentation has to be done before I can say anything conclusive.

Best of luck!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • social-icons-magenta_LinkedIn
  • social-icons-magenta_Quora
  • social-icons-magenta_Vimeo
  • social-icons-magenta_Deviant Art
bottom of page